The Blues Blast Ticker
Issue 10-48 December 8, 2016 (December 8, 2016 5:06 am)

The Latest From Blues Blast!

matthewskollercd

Matthew Skoller – Blues Immigrant | Album Review

Dec 09, 2016Comments off

Matthew Skoller - Blues Immigrant Tongue “N Groove Records http://matthewskoller.com/ 11 tracks Chicago blues harp great emigrated to Chicago from the Big Apple (Brooklyn to be specific; that’s important to New Yorkers) to Chicago in 1987. 

cover10_48medium

Issue 10-48 December 8, 2016

Dec 08, 2016Comments off

Cover photo by Roman Sobus © 2016  In This Issue  Terry Mullins has our feature interview with Guy King. We have 8 Blues reviews for you this week including new music from Bobby Rush, Lil’ Ed

bobbyrushcd

Bobby Rush – Porcupine Meat | Album Review

Dec 08, 2016Comments off

Bobby Rush - Porcupine Meat Rounder Records – 2016 12 tracks; 57 minutes Everyone in the blues community knows Bobby Rush, recipient of a Blues Blast Awards for Lifetime Achievement in 2014 and Historical album of the

jimmccartycd

Jim McCarty & Friends – Live From Callahan’s II | Album Review

Dec 07, 2016Comments off

Jim McCarty & Friends  - Live From Callahan’s II Self-Release – 2016 9 tracks; 72 minutes www.jimmccartyandfriends.com Jim McCarty is best known for his stints on guitar with Mitch Ryder and Buddy Miles.  He lives close to

thefreemontscd

The Fremonts – Alligator | Album Review

Dec 06, 2016Comments off

The Fremonts - Alligator Truax Records – 2016 15 tracks; 50 minutes www.thefremonts.com The Fremonts hail from San Diego and this is their fourth album release. The band adopts a mono recording approach which gives a real

danbubiencd

Dan Bubien – Grinding These Gears | Album Review

Dec 05, 2016Comments off

Dan Bubien - Grinding These Gears Self-Produced www.danbubien.com CD: 10 Songs, 47:05 Minutes        Styles: Contemporary Electric Blues and Blues Rock, Roots Rock Can the blues be beautiful? Is that adjective only fit for genres such as classical

thecadillackingcd

The Cadillac Kings – The Secret Of My Success | Album Review

Dec 04, 2016Comments off

The Cadillac Kings - The Secret Of My Success 33 Records – 2016 14 tracks; 59 minutes www.cadillackings.co.uk The Cadillac Kings are undoubtedly the top rhythm and blues band on the UK scene and their latest album

michaelskinnercd

Michael Skinner – New Arrangements | Album Review

Dec 04, 2016Comments off

Michael Skinner – New Arrangements Independent http://michaelskinner3.com/ 13 Tracks; 57 minutes This is not a Blues Album. It is an eclectic mix of R&B, Funk, Jazz, Gospel, and Blues with a little 70s’ cheese thrown in.

jimsuhlercd

Jim Suhler & Monkey Beat – Live At The Kessler | Album Review

Dec 03, 2016Comments off

Jim Suhler & Monkey Beat - Live At The Kessler www.jimsuhler.com Underworld Records 15 songs – 70 minutes Jim Suhler is an interesting one. Almost a Texas institution, his biting yet melodic guitar playing and smart, sassy

bluescargocd

Blues Cargo – On Time | Album Review

Dec 03, 2016Comments off

Blues Cargo - On Time www.bluescargo.gr Melon Music 12 songs time-62:59 The international reach of the blues continues to amaze along with the way the blues sound is absorbed in many foreign lands while creating new blues